he liked it, so he put a ring on it

So… long time, no speak. The reason is pretty valid though, I’ve been very busy!

I have some very exciting news to share with you all, some of you may know, others may not. On the 20th May 2017 I said YES to becoming part of the Stapleton family. My boyfriend (now my fiancé, ooooh how exciting does that sound?!) proposed to me and I wanted to share a little bit of our story with you.

Ben and I have currently been together for nearly 2 and a half years. We met each other at the christian union at university in my first term of my first year and Ben was in his second year. We both noticed and had our eyes on each other from the first time we met. Defo had that initial sparkle! Here is where I give credit to one of my best friends- after I had stressed to her about whether I should message Ben, she told me just to go for it and see what happens (Anna V, u are the reason we are together, so thanks xo). We ended up talking ALL the time and from there everything just blossomed. We both knew pretty quickly we were meant to be together after sharing a lot about ourselves and feeling so comfortable with each other. We decided to go on a walk and a talk on the 16th December 2014 and that’s when our relationship “officially” started.

We’ve shared some pretty amazing memories together along the way. Including seeing Ben graduate and finish his degree with a 2:1, celebrating his 21st birthday, sharing and celebrating getting baptised, going to the Isle of Wight with him and his family, magical evenings together watching the sunset in Inverness in Scotland, conquering our fears on Go Ape, beach days, going punting for my 21st birthday, having dinner out in Marco Pierre White’s restaurant in London, celebrating me getting my first nursing job, going to see Russell Howard in the Royal Albert Hall, travelling to new cities and many, many more.

So this is the part that probably most of you are intrigued about… how Ben proposed. So I’m going to tell you! Ben and I had been discussing weddings and getting engaged for a few months prior to actually getting engaged, so I guess you could say that I knew it was coming soon. But it was honestly so beautiful, the best day of my life (so far)! We went out in the morning just to run some errands, so started at as a pretty normal day and then Ben said that we were going to go on a picnic for lunch. Not going to lie, I was kinda hesitant to start with because it was supposed to rain that day… but Ben persuaded me that it would be lovely to have a picnic and spend time together, haha, little did I know!
We packed up some lunch and took it to a beautiful little spot right by the river with some trees over us. Ben and I had recently started geocaching and it’s an activity we enjoyed doing together- so, Ben mentioned that there was a geocache* close by and that I should look in the trees near to me and Ben looked on the other side. I found the container pretty quickly and started to open it. I then turned around to see Ben standing behind me with the ring box in his hand- at this moment, the floodgates opened and I just cried SO many tears of joy! I opened the piece of paper in the container and it said “Will you marry me?”- a personal geocache just for me that he had created. He then knelt down on one knee and told me he loved me and how he wanted to marry me. AND of course, through all my tears… I SAID YES!

So there you go, that was how he proposed. It was so beautiful and personal. It honestly was my dream proposal! I am still in awe of how he pulled it off, got his family and my family involved, without me finding out (i’m like a detective, trying to work out surprises). We then spent the rest of the day calling/contacting people close to us and celebrating with lots of prosecco with one half of the family! It was perfect.

To conclude, I just wanted to take a moment to talk about what marriage means to us. Marriage has huge significance in our lives, especially as christians. We believe that marriage is a binding agreement under God to spend the rest of your life with that person and live out the purpose God has called you to do together, as well as individually. It’s a very exciting time and we can’t wait to see how God will be blessing and calling us in our married life, as he has been in our separate lives.

I can’t wait to marry this wonderful man!

 

*Geocaching definition: “an activity or pastime in which an item, or a container holding a number of items, is hidden at a particular location for GPS users to find by means of coordinates posted on the Internet”

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

