it’s okay to not be okay

It’s been a very  l o n g  time since i’ve written on this blog. I’ve been super busy, lots of exciting things have been happening like starting my final placement, finishing my last assignment and wedding preparations. But it’s not all been an easy road, there have been disappointments, bad days and challenges. Last week I had a particularly bad day where nothing seemed to go right and it just seemed to turn into a negative downwards spiral.

It’s okay not to be okay. It’s okay to have bad days. It’s also okay to talk to people about how you are feeling- you are not a burden and so many people love you.

Here are some of the ways that help me to understand, cope with the hard days and focus on the beautiful things, enabling me to change my mindset to a positive one:

  • It’s so important to talk about feelings. I’m not that great at this one, but i’m definitely learning the importance of this. I tend to hold my feelings in when I get angry or upset, which then only causes me to fall into the negativity trap. I end up feeling 100 times worse than I  originally did. Find someone who genuinely cares about you and is someone you trust, then talk to them honestly. It’ll make you feel so much better and getting someone else’s view/opinion may also aid you in understanding more about why you are feeling a certain way.
  • Pray. Now for me this is really important, my faith is a part of who I am and God always guides me and provides me with complete peace, especially times when i’m feeling anxious or having a bad day. I find myself trying to deal with everything on my own, but as soon as I give everything over to God and open up my heart to him- I feel free from all the negativity in the day. It’s so refreshing and I am always utterly overwhelmed by God’s love for me. Whoever you are, if you want to, you can always step into closeness with God- just start by speaking out your heart and seeking him.

bible verse

  • Writing in a journal. I find if i’m feeling really angry or sad, it helps me to write down all the things that have made me feel that way to get it off my chest. Then on the next page I will always write lots of positive things that aid me in remembering all the amazing things in my life and how grateful I am for it all. This helps me to sort out my thoughts and start/end the day on a positive note.
  • Listening to chilled music. Music always helps me to relax and allow me thinking and reflecting time! Put on your favourite happy or chilled out tunes, make yourself a cuppa and then turn yourself into a burrito with a blanket.

Whatever helps you, remember that it’s okay to have a bad day but keep reminding yourself of all the positive and great things in your life!

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

